US Dates: October 24 – 30, 2020

“Independent venues are incredibly important to our musical history as a country, and
they are incredibly important to our future” – Alison Mosshart, #IVW20 Artist Ambassador

#IVW20 Auction

Grab a piece of music history, with net proceeds going to the NIVA Emergency Relief Fund. The auction is now live. See all listings HERE

Venue Programming

All week there will be programming from over 100 independent venues around the United States.


Streams marked with *

Purple Fiddle WV, Thomas WV | Megan Bee – 1 PM EDT / 10 AM PDT
The Fire, Philadelphia PA | Percussion for peace – 2 PM EDT / 11 AM PDT
Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks, Bethlehem PA | Outdoor Dining with Special guest Live at The Fillmore – 3 PM EDT / 12 PM PDT
Sundown at Granada, Dallas TX | Chris Watson – 4 PM EDT / 1 PM PDT
Reggies, Chicago IL | Ricky Rat – 4 PM EDT / 1 PM PDT
Deep Ellum Art Co., Dallas TX | Astro James – 6 PM EDT / 3 PM PDT
HI-FI Annex, Indianapolis IN | Rod Tuffcurls & The Bench Press at HI-FI Annex – 6 PM EDT / 3 PM PDT
*Boch Center, Boston Boston | Ghost Light Series – Lori McKenna – 6 PM EDT / 3 PM PDT
*Public Records, Brooklyn NY | PRTV Swing State Spotlight: FLORIDA ft. Danny Daze, Diplo, and Friends – 6 PM EST / 3 PM PST
City Winery, Chicago IL | JC Brooks – 6 PM EST / 3 PM PST
*Chris’ Jazz Cafe, Philadelphia PA | Warren Wolf – 6:45 PM EST / 3:45 PM PST
Avalon Foundation, Easton MD | Hot Club of Baltimore at the Avalon Theatre – 7 PM EST / 4 PM PST
*The Concourse, Knoxville TN | “Temple” – goth/industrial/EBM – 7 PM EST / 4 PM PST
*Jilly’s Music Room, Akron OH | The Scenic Route – 7:30 PM EST / 4:30 PM PST
*Ardmore Music Hall, Ardmore PA | Living Colour – 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST
*ONCE , Somerville MA | The Town & The City Festival Webcast x OVV – 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST
The Bugle Boy, La Grange TX | Grace Pettis & David Ramirez – 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST
The Stone Church, Brattleboro VT | If Not I Than Who Then – 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST
Warehouse Live, Houston TX | Blackhorse Limo & Jetspeed Music Presents: Weezhur – Tribute to Weezer – 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST
Motorco, Durham NC | Lydia Loveless – 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST
Sellersville Theater, Sellersville PA | Danny Burns – 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST
Rudy’s Jazz Room, Nashville TN | Geoff Pfeifer Quartet Live Stream – 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST
Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks, Bethlehem PA | Outdoor Screening: Get Out – 8 PM EST / 5 PM PST
Charleston Pour House, Charleston SC | Little Stranger w/ Pip The Pansy – 8:15 PM EST / 5:15 PM PST
Tower Theatre OKC, Oklahoma City OK | Possessor (film, new release) – 9 PM EST / 6 PM PST
Lincoln Hall, Chicago IL | Audiotree Presents Sen Morimoto Album Release – 9 PM EST / 6 PM PST
Club Fox, Redwood City CA | ZOLA – 9 PM EST / 6 PM PST
City Winery, Chicago IL | JC Brooks – 9 PM EST / 6 PM PST
Wooly’s, Des Moines IA | PetRock: A Tribute To The Smooth Rock Of The 70’s – 9:30 PM EST / 6:30 PM PST
Martin’s Downtown, Roanoke VA | Mad Iguanas – 10 PM EST / 7 PM PST
Nectar Lounge, Seattle WA | Best ’80s Prom Ever featuring Nite Wave – 11 PM EST / 8 PM PST
T-Bar Social Club, June Lake CA | The Novelists. – 11:59 PM EST / 9 PM PST

Streams marked with *

Sundown at Granada, Dallas TX | Colin Boyd 3-6 PM – 4 PM EDT / 1 PM PDT
Deep Ellum Art Co., Dallas TX | Thaddeus Ford – 6 PM EDT / 3 PM PDT
HI-FI Annex, Indianapolis IN | Motherfolk at HI-FI Annex Ticket Link – 6 PM EDT / 3 PM PDT
*Public Records, Brooklyn NY | PRTV In your Dirty Ears 022 Fake Rolex – 6 PM EDT / 3 PM PDT
*Arden Gild Hall, Wilmington DE | Sway-At-Home Fest IV – 6:30 PM EDT / 3:30 PM PDT
*Jilly’s Music Room, Akron OH | I Protest: Singer/Songwriter Showcase – 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT
*BOP STOP, Cleveland OH | Pulse Quartet – 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT
*Chris’ Jazz Cafe, Philadelphia PA | Keith Chasin Quintet – 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT
*Trans Pecos, Brooklyn NY | Babys All Right – Shamir, Stella Donnelly, Tony and Tony, and more – 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT
*recordBar, Kansas City MO | The Get Up Kids – 7:30 PM EDT / 4:30 PM PDT
Grog Shop, Cleveland Heights OH | Glamgore: Night of the Living Drag – 7:30 PM EDT / 4:30 PM PDT
*World Cafe Live, Philadelphia PA | Lady Alma w/ Vertical Current – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*The Stone Church, Brattleboro VT | The Fantastic Partnerz – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*The Paramount, Los Angeles CA | Andrea Franz (Mexico City) – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*The Kennett Flash, Kennett Square PA | Jeffrey Gaines – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*City Winery, Nashville TN | Jeff Bradshaw – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
Charleston Pour House, Charleston SC | The Exorcist w/ Live Original Score by White/Bogan Duo – 8:30 PM EDT / 5:30 PM PDT
*Groundworks Tucson, Tucson AZ | Video James – 9 PM EDT / 6 PM PDT
*White Eagle Hall, Jersey City NJ | Mike Krol Deadstream – 9 PM EDT / 6 PM PDT
*Club Fox, Redwood City CA | The Terry Hiatt Band – 9 PM EDT / 6 PM PDT
*Hideout, Chicago IL | Mooner (Record Release) with Dogs at Large – 9 PM EDT / 6 PM PDT
*Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks, Bethlehem PA | Toddler Storytime
*Nectar Lounge, Seattle WA | Marmalade 11pc funk group (Halloween show) – 11 PM EDT / 8 PM PDT

Streams marked with *

*Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks, Bethlehem PA | SteelStacks Lunch Break (Livestream) – 12 PM EDT / 9 AM PDT
Sundown at Granada, Dallas TX | Remy Reilly – 4 PM EDT / 1 PM PDT
Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks, Bethlehem PA | Outdoor Dining with special guest Light My Fire – The Ultimate Doors Tribute – 5:30 PM EDT / 2:30 PM PDT
Deep Ellum Art Co., Dallas TX | Smoking With Strangers – 6 PM EDT / 3 PM PDT
HI-FI Annex, Indianapolis IN | War On TV Album Release Show – 6 PM EDT / 3 PM PDT
*Public Records, Brooklyn NY | PRTV Swing State Spotlight: NORTH CAROLINA ft. Nadia Khan, Liquid Asset, Chainletter – 6 PM EDT / 3 PM PDT
*Trans Pecos, Brooklyn NY | Purgatory – Gustaf + P.E. – 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT
*Avalon Foundation, Easton MD | Susan Werner at the Avalon Theatre Stoltz Pavilion – 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT
*Chris’ Jazz Cafe, Philadelphia PA | Saxophonist TK Blue with the Webb Thomas Trio
Celebrate 100 Years of Charlie Parker – 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT
*High Dive, Gainesville FL | Comedy Night Friday – 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT
Purple Fiddle, Thomas | Jack Dunlap FREE Concert on the Patio – 7 PM EDT / 4 PM PDT
*Promontory , Chicago IL | Afrofusion Halloween – 7:30 PM EDT / 4:30 PM PDT
*Cat’s Cradle, Carboro NC | The Connells – 8PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*The Concourse, Knoxville TN | “Rewind” – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*Hotel Vegas, Austin TX | Levitation Sessions – Boogarins – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*The Stone Church, Brattleboro VT | Stresselbee & Friends Hip Hop Night – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
Warehouse Live, Houston TX | Blackhorse Limo & Jetspeed Music Presents: Idol X (Tribute to Billy Idol) – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
Beachland, Cleveland OH | Mossom, Floco Torres – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*The Paramount, Los Angeles CA | VNDRZ DJ Set – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*The Narrows, Fall River MA | The Garcia Project – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
Motorco, Durham NC | Sarah Shook & The Disarmers – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*The Orpheum Theater, Flagstaff AZ | A Very Grateful Halloween With Legions Of Fools – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
*Sellersville Theater, Sellersville PA | Groove Merchants – 8 PM EDT / 5 PM PDT
City Winery, Chicago IL | The North 41 – 8:30 PM EDT / 5:30 PM PDT
*Club Fox, Redwood City CA | Chris Cain – 9 PM EDT / 6 PM PDT
Charleston Pour House, Charleston SC | The Delta Circus presents: A Tribute to The Rolling Stones – 9 PM EDT / 6 PM PDT
*Hideout, Chicago IL | Cosmic Country Showcase feat. Evil, Nico, Nick Shoulders, Ana Fabrega, and Sarah Squirm – 9 PM EDT / 6 PM PDT
Wooly’s, Des Moines IA | Come Together Band Beatles Tribute – 9:30 PM EDT / 6:30 PM PDT
*Nectar Lounge, Seattle WA | The Warren G. Hardings – 11 PM EDT / 8 PM PDT
*Aurora Borealis , Shoreline WA | False Sense of Security – 11 PM EDT / 8 PM PDT

#IVW20 Talks

#IVW20 is hosting a series of discussion panels featuring professionals from all aspects of the live music industry to discuss their experiences, expertise, and the future of live events.

  • 2 PM EDT/11 AM PDT
    But Wait, There’s More… Alternative Revenue Streams for Venues
    Join #IVW20 for a discussion about other ways a venue can bring in a cash flow beyond the ticket sale. Should every venue have its own merch? What add-ons to customer purchases won’t break the bank? Will customers pay for post-COVID comfort perks such as individual pods or timed entry?

    Mary Kay Huse (Mandolin)
    Joe Ahearn (WithFriends)
    Stacy Schwartz (First Avenue Productions)
    Bruce Houghton (Bandsintown, Skyline Artists Agency)
  • 1 PM EDT/10 AM PDT
    Insurance Triage: Moves you can make now to save money and prepare for reopening

    Paul Bassman (Ascend Insurance Brokerage)
  • 2 PM EDT/11 AM PDT
    Hosting Sponsored Shows Without Selling Out
    This panel will discuss how brands and venues can work together in creating meaningful activations that keep the heart of the stage while advertising to a new audience, both in-person and online.

    Lizzy Newton (SXSW)
    Jennifer Sullivan (memBrain LLC)
    Rob Mason (AGAR)
    Dan Gross (McCann)
  • 3 PM EDT/12 PM PDT
    Community Servants: How your Venue works with the Neighborhood
    How can venues open their doors and expand their reach to more people in their community, in-person and online?

    JJ Gonson (ONCE Somerville, MA)
    Tom DeGeorge (Crowbar, Tampa FL)
    Hal Real (World Cafe Live, Philadelphia PA) (President, NIVA)
    Lauren Goshinski (Independent Curator + Program Director, Public Records NYC)
  • 1:30 PM EDT/10:30 AM PDT
    Diversifying Your Audience: How to book shows for audiences you don’t currently draw.
    How do you reach an audience that isn’t already on your mailing list? Are agents open to booking artists at new-to-them rooms? What are some ways to message diversity in bookings that can turn your audience on to new artists?

    Shahida Mausi (The Aretha Franklin Amphitheater, Detroit MI)
    Tobi Parks (xBk, Des Moines IA)
    John Pantle (Sound Talent Group)
    Hilary Saunders (No Depression)
  • 3 PM EDT/12 PM PDT
    Beyond the Stage: The Effect Venues have on the Economy
    Independent venues are an integral part of the local economy. What do cities and towns risk losing if these stages close their doors?

    Kate Becker (Creative Economy and Recovery Director for King County, WA)
    Ariel Palitz (NYC Office of Nightlife)
    Meara McLaughlin (Music Portland)
    Dave Brooks (Billboard)
  • 12 PM EDT/9 AM PDT
    Getting Your First Job
    What does the future of the live music industry look like for students getting ready to start their careers right now?

    Rob Price (School of Rock)
    Mary Park (NYU Steinhardt)
    David M. Mayeri (Berkeley Music Group)
    Sarah Goldberg (Senior, Bandier Program at Syracuse University)
  • 1:30 PM EDT/10:30 AM PDT
    Putting on Your First Show
    Power players give students professional insight into the specific details of putting together a show for the community. Discussion points will include: what are the first steps when planning a show? How can a school’s connections, alumni, and network help? What should students look out for that can quickly go wrong?

    Matthew Smith (UC Theater, Berkeley CA)
    Cindy Barber (Beachland Ballroom, Cleveland OH)
    Eric Sosa (C’mon Everybody, Brooklyn NY)
    Kerri Park (World Cafe Live, Philadelphia PA)
  • 4:30 PM EDT/1:30 PM PDT
    Out of the Classroom
    A select few students from across the country who are taking initiatives outside of their school work to start their own organizations, businesses, etc. in the music and live event space present what they are working on, and how they are getting it done while balancing their studies.

    Zarrin Alam (Berklee)
    Chris Emond (NYU)
    Lauren Marques (Syracuse University)
  • 1 PM EDT/10 AM PDT
    The Making of #SOSFEST: Bringing the Festival Experience Online
    Some of the brains behind #SOSFEST will discuss the differences and challenges the team faced while putting together an online-only music festival.

    Sammy Rubin (Big Room)
    Ali Rivera (YouTube)
    Jamie Loeb (Nederlander Concerts)
    John Petrocelli (Bulldog DM)
    Stephen Sternschein (Heard Entertainment, NIVA)
  • 2 PM EDT/11 AM PDT
    BBC Music Introducing Live Presents: Keeping Live Alive
    A discussion on the live sector and how we can support venues, artists & DJ’s.

    Alexandra Ampofo (Promoter for Live Nation + Metropolis Music)
    Annie Mac (Presenter/DJ, Radio 1)
    Arlo Parks (Musician, Song-writer)
    Lianne La Havas (Musician, Song-writer)
    Sybil Bell (Founder of Independent Venue Week)

  • 3 PM EDT/12 PM PDT
    NIVA Presents: Life off the Road: 2020 from the Artists’ Perspective

    Hosted by Pete McDevitt (Belly Up- Solana Beach, CA) with panelists Adam Turla (Murder By Death), Alicia Bognanno (Bully), and Jim Adkins (Jimmy Eat World)

#IVW20 PARTNERS

PARTICIPATING VENUES

Independent Venue Week is unique
in that it is a nationwide initiative with a completely local feel.

By championing these venues, we are able to highlight why they are so much more than just places for live music – they are cultural hubs for learning, creativity, arts and culture more widely connecting people in their local community of all ages, backgrounds, abilities, genders, skills and walks of life.

LATEST NEWS

Independent Venue Week announces US 2021 dates

With the help of 143 venues in 80 cities across 33 states and gracious donations from iconic musicians who came together to celebrate these stages that gave them their start, Independent Venue Week concludes as a resounding success. Venues can sign up for next year’s event, which will be July 12 – 18, 2021 Independent Venue Week has…