Uncategorized

#IVW20 Get Schooled: A Day full of student-focused programming

This Thursday, October 29, Independent Venue Week is hosting Get Schooled: a free online event that will welcome students from music business programs or those with interest in the live events industry to meet and learn from live event professionals.

We are hosting two virtual discussion panels: one focused on the future of the live music industry for students looking to start their careers, and another discussing what students need to know to put on a DIY show.

We are also hosting a series of short presentations by students that have taken the initiative outside of their schoolwork to start their own program, business, etc. in the realm of music and live entertainment. We still have a couple of slots available for presenters, so if you have any stellar students you would recommend for this unique opportunity, please reach out to bobby@maraudergroup.com. This event will be available to view by anyone.

Here is the full program:

Getting Your First Job Thursday, October 29, 12 PM EDT/9 AM PDT

Industry professionals sit down and discuss what the future of the live music and event industry is looking like. Discussion points will include: What do the different entry-level jobs look like? How can you build professional relationships with local venues and promoters? What are the pros and cons of freelance work vs. working in one place?

  • Rob Price (School of Rock)
  • Mary Park (NYU Steinhardt)
  • David M. Mayeri (Berkeley Music Group)
  • Moderated by Sarah Goldberg (Senior, Bandier Program at Syracuse University)

    RSVP

Putting on Your First Show Thursday, October 29, 1:30 PM EDT/10:30 AM PDT

Power players give students professional insight into the specific details of putting together a show for the community. Discussion points will include: what are the first steps when planning a show? How can a school’s connections, alumni, and network help? What should students look out for that can quickly go wrong?

  • Matthew Smith (UC Theater, Berkeley CA)
  • Cindy Barber (Beachland Ballroom, Cleveland OH)
  • Eric Sosa (C’mon Everybody, Brooklyn NY)
  • Moderated by Kerri Park (World Cafe Live, Philadelphia PA)

    RSVP

Out of the Classroom Thursday, October 29, 4:30 PM EDT/1:30 PM PDT

A select few students from across the country who are taking initiatives outside of their school work to start their own organizations, businesses, etc. in the music and live event space present what they are working on, and how they are getting it done while balancing their studies.

RSVP

Similar Posts